New City, New Blog

A little over a month ago I made a huge life change and began my life as a real adult.  A moved to a city that I didn’t know very well in order to pursue my dreams of comedy.  (And, apparently, write really cheesy things in blog posts.)  Now that the craziness of moving has died down a bit and I know three different ways of getting myself to work, I feel like it is the perfect time to start writing again.  I realized that I hadn’t updated my old blog (which has the same name but was hosted by Blogger) and decided that it was time for a change.  So here I am.  On a new blog, in my new home.

Let’s do some catching up.  I have moved to Chicago and, even though it has been a month, it doesn’t really seem real.  I have two wonderful roommates (one of whom just started moving in today–exciting!) and work in an adorable bookstore.  The independent bookstore world is so nice compared to the corporate world that I lived in for so long.  Plus it’s nice to be surrounded by books again.  Even though it means that I have acquired way too many books in only the month I have been here… (I will never admit how many.  That number will just scare people, myself included.)  The one problem with the bookstore job is that my previous bookstore employment was only seasonal.  And so my brain keeps feeling like I have somewhere that I will be going in a month or so.  But that’s not true.  This is my life now.  Which is scary but also incredibly exciting.

11953207_10153592815934402_7740876639447365262_n
Here’s me in front of my apartment the day I moved in!

I am more than halfway through level one of improv classes at The Annoyance and have signed up for level two so I am on my way of becoming a real life comedian!  Watch out, world!  Funny is coming your way!

I still have many things to learn, though, such as:

  • Where do I get a haircut?  (Real question, my bangs are crazy long, someone please help me with this one.)
  • What can I make for dinner that only uses ingredients I can find at the local grocery store that serves a very specific Hispanic population who have no interests in things such as tortellini that I have come to rely on?
  • How do I recycle when my building doesn’t?  (There is so much recycling in the kitchen right now.  Please save us from drowning in it!)
  • What podcasts do I listen to on my way to and from work once I catch up on This American Life?

This is only a small sampling of the many questions I have.  But I know that I will find the answers and get some great stories along the way.  And that is what this blog is for!  Keeping anyone who is interested updated on the crazy antics of my life.  (OK, I’m overstating.  They aren’t that crazy.)

Also, just to add a story about attempting to adult, I tried to make mac and cheese in the crockpot tonight.  I was so excited because I was being fancy and making fancy mac and cheese.  And it was terrible.  Just awful.  Not cheesy enough.  Not really anything at all.  Just so disappointing.  But I put the leftovers in the fridge because I can’t bring myself to throw away a pretty large amount of food.  That will be a task for tomorrow.

Alright, I am going to stop writing because I really should go to bed because I have to work tomorrow but first I have to find a UPS access point to pick up my new Converse (because my favorite pair ripped at work the other day and so I had to order new ones) and the UPS guy said that I wasn’t at my apartment when he came to get them which is ridiculous because the interwebs say that he came at 6:30 and I was just hanging out in my apartment waiting for the UPS guy at that time, purposely not going out so I could get my shoes.  So tomorrow I have to go to some place that is part of a 7-Eleven just so that I have shoes to wear for work tomorrow.  (That is a bit of a complain-y overstatement.  I have shoes to wear to work.  I would just like these ones.)

For real now.  I am going to stop writing.  Because no one wants to read more than this, especially when it isn’t a story and is just me blabbering on about my life in a completely unorganized manner.  I will be back though.  So watch out, world.  Portia is blogging.

One thought on “New City, New Blog

  1. portia!!! i have messaged my bff who lives in Chicago to see where she gets her hairs done and i can definitely help you navigate a largely Latino grocery store. when you get a sec, send me a message to tell me what neighborhood and all that jazz.

    Like

Leave a Reply

